Suiting Up as a Stay-at Home / Work-at-Home-Mom (AKA VEEP CFO)

How would I fare as the Barney Stinson of moms?

I was watching Madame Secretary the other night and I realized that I think Tea Leoni looks hot. Like the kind of hot I’d want to look like.

Looking at her on the show, I said to myself, “wow, I love that haircut.” Then she put on her glasses and I thought, “wow, those are great glasses.”

teanmeThe thing is, though, I actually HAVE those glasses AND that haircut. That’s me in the smaller picture which was taken in April 2014. The other one is Tea Leone, rocking my look, courtesy of this Variety article about the show dated September 2014.

I’m not talking about her actual face and waif-like physique, I’m talking about her style. It’s hotter than mine. Today, during “Twos are Terrific” at the library today (hey, it’s a great program but my mind wanders a little while we’re there), I finally realized why.

It’s the suits. God, I miss a good power suit. Probably almost as much as I miss the money from the jobs that went with it. (Not enough to get another one of those jobs, though.)

Suits are so ideal. They always match. Everyone looks thinner in the right suit. And smarter. And more serious.

I don’t think women even have to wear expensive suits. The $80-$150 Macy’s jobs look good. Throw a $15-$30 shirt underneath and you are good to go. What casual outfit can you wear for that little money that looks that good?

There isn’t one. Especially when you have my fashion sense. Casual outfits are complicated – too much freedom.  Things like scarves in summer and ballet shoes which aren’t like running shoes.  I’d love to have a better “look” about me, but in casual wear, it eludes me.

Suits are the only outfits that go with my favorite shoes, too. I love a 3 inch patent heel. Preferably with a serious looking buckle. Round or pointy toe, depending on my mood. In general, the sort of thing I can’t tie in with my current mom uniform- which is usually jeans or yoga pants and a race t-shirt. I usually go with flip-flops or my running shoes. Mostly because that’s all I have. Because why would I spend money on shoes that don’t go with suits?

What I was trying to figure out in my head while Miss Laura read some kids’ book about a fall walk was, “how can I start to bring the suit back into my wardrobe without giving up my SAHM/WAHM status?”

If I wore a nice gray pinstripe suit to story time, what would the other moms say? Would they remain quiet and everyone would come at least business casual to sit the floor and do crafts at story time next week?

Would my new look elicit calls to DCF about my state of mind?

Would I be better off (and this ISN’T a deal breaker for me) making up a story about why I’m in a suit every time?

“Oh, had another meeting with the board today!” I’d tell the MOMs Club. And it wouldn’t be a lie- I’m constantly running into things and I’m sure some of them are made from boards. I think we could reasonably expect the “board-meetings” to increase when I’m chasing a toddler around in skinny-heeled pumps.

“Just starting to think about a little more income for my family,” I’d answer when my neighbor asks about my sleek, black long skirt and matching jacket at the grocery store. Again, not a lie. I’m always thinking about that. I may have implied interview, though.

Perhaps I could just go with telling people that this is my uniform as VEEP CFO.

What do you think- can I suit up as a Mom?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

