Can You Help the Kooky Kousins?

Howdy all!  I haven’t been on here much and I do apologize for that.  I’ve had a lot going on and one of the many things is our Kooky Kousins team for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in Hartford, CT.  The race is coming up quick- June 7, 2014.  I’m so excited about the race- a bunch of my friends and family are going to be there, there will be lots of pink, and I feel like I’m doing my part to remember those who were lost and to honor survivors, like my kooky cousins Cheryl and Kim, who demonstrated a so much strength and hope in each of their courageous battles.

I was just checking out our team fundraising site, though, and it’s looking a little sad.  We do have one donation.  Kristine, one of our team members, has a donation of $25 from some folks named Gill and Mike.  I don’t know them, but I’m so grateful for their donation.  In fact, I’m so poetically grateful that I wrote this in their honor:

Three cheers for Gill and Mike!

They could’ve said, “Kristine, take a hike!”

And then used their cash at the movies.

But, instead of being schmucks,

They took their twenty-five bucks,

And donated it to save boobies!

That should make them feel special, right?  Do you want to feel special, too?   You see, I’m a little behind on where I’d like to be on our fundraising, so I thought I’d ask for your help.  Aside from the tax-deductible nature of your donation, I thought I’d up the ante a little with these awesome fabulous great good kind of okay…. interesting thank yous:

bothshirts

If you don’t know what motor boating has to do with breasts or breast cancer, this probably isn’t the tshirt for you.

1.)  Be one of the first 7 people to donate $30 or more to our team and get a totally awesome, slightly inappropriate T-shirt (see pic at left) and a poem written about you on MotorMommy.

Just go to the Team Kooky Kousins page and make your donation.  Then comment below and email me at motormommy(at) yahoo(dot)com and I’ll get all the details I need to get the shirt mailed to you.  Yes, the tshirt is a little Vince-Vaughn-“Wedding Crashers” inappropriate.  But it is carefully constructed and artfully designed.  Also, it is impenetrable to evil spirits and the fire of dragons’ breath*.  Which is nice.

2.)  Be one of the first 10 people to donate $10 or more to our team and I’ll write a poem about you on MotorMommy.

Just go to the Team Kooky Kousins page and make your donation and then comment below.  (I won’t need an email.)  How often do people write poems about you?  Sure, evil spirits can get at you and a dragon can singe your skin, but you’ll have your own terrible poem!  Yay!

3.)  Donate as little as $1, and you can have your name, or any name you choose, scroll across the Team Kooky Kousins page.  It’s like being sort of famous!

Check out the Team Kooky Kousins page and you’ll see that Gil and Mike are already enjoying this great gift. What you can’t tell, though, is that each time your name scrolls by, you’ll feel a wave of gratitude sent telepathically from the entire Kooky Kousins team.  It’s true! Go ahead, ask Gil and Mike**.

Not in the mood or cant afford to shell out cash?  There’s still two ways you can help!  Here’s how:

We’re having a fundraising event Monday, May 19th at Artplus Studio in New Haven Connecticut.  We’ll have some wine and some snacks and there are even door prizes.  And you’ll be painting a lovely canvas that you get to take home!  You can go to the Art Plus Studio site and register online right now!

Here’s some more details:

Kooky Kousins for a Cure Paint Party FUNdraiser

May 19th 2014

Check in 6:30pm. Painting will start 6:45pm.

 FUNdraiser cancellations with more than 48-hours notice will result in a $50 cancellation fee.  Less than 48 hours will result in a $150 cancellation fee. In the event a FUNdraiser is cancelled, store credits will be issued to those who have already made a reservation.

  • We provide all materials, your take-home canvas, and step-by-step instruction with one of our instructors

  • We will also be auctioning off art from our collection to benefit your organization.

  • We’ll also be raffling off some door prizes, including one of the tshirts above.  Unless that is illegal.  Then we would definitely not do that.

  • You can bring your own drinks/snacks, but Kooky Kousins will have some wine and some snacks for everyone!

Of course, if you’re’ not in our area or if you don’t like painting or you’re short on cash, you can STILL help!  Just share this post!  Maybe you know someone who has $5 burning a hole in their pocket.  We would really, really, really appreciate it! As always, thank you so much for reading!

*This statement has not been evaluated by the FDA or anyone with any sort of credibility.

**Waves of gratitude may take up to 48 hours to feel.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Can You Help the Kooky Kousins?

  1. Jeanette Misaiko says:

    Hey Motor Mommy – from one Kooky Kousin to another – thank you for making it so easy, and fun to help support the foundation. I wish I was close enough to join your fundraiser – I am sure it is going to be fabulously fun time! Good luck to all of the Kooky Kousins – I love you all and miss you.

  2. […] Now, as promised, I have some poetry to share about our supporters. […]

  3. Gill Thompson says:

    We’ve never had a poem written for us, so this is a first.
    We’re feeling so warm and fuzzy that we may just burst.
    Kooky Kousins get out there and work up a thirst by selling all of your inappropriate T-shirts.

    Good luck with the run.

    Gill & Mike

  4. motormommy says:

    Oh my goodness, Gill and Mike, I’m not sure how I missed this! I’m so excited that you got our fundraising ball rolling, and that you decided to one-up me with the poetry stuff. (We were all po-ets, and we just didn’t know it!)

Leave a Reply

