Motormommy Turns One

I am a horrible writer. This is not a compliment-baiting pity statement, it’s just true. I use too many words, make a lot of grammatical errors and rarely vary my sentence structure. My vocabulary has proved itself less than impressive, too.

The good news is that I now have a year’ s worth of empirical evidence to prove it. Yup, Motor Mommy is officially one year old today. And that’s how I can officially say that writing is HARD.

Here’s a brief review of the highlights of my crappy writing:

It all started with Roughin’ It, about a camping vacation. Of course it was sarcastic and involved a manhattan.

The first post to be viewed over 100 times was “Family Member Driving Me Bonkers,” which you should read in its entirety if at all.

A lot of my mother-in-law’s friends read it and told her about it because they were concerned it was about her. Incidentally, she has never said any of those things about my house or my clothes or my cooking. At least not to my face.

My most popular posts to date are not my funny sarcastic ones, actually. Most read, of course, is my tribute to Mrs. Vera Anderson. That has to do with her popularity, not mine.

Second most popular was First Steps and Last Steps, my post about euthanizing our dog. I was surprised so many people read that one. It was sad. Many people (including grown men) told me it made them cry. Obviously, a blog about death wouldn’t be very fun, but since that was the subject of my top two post, I wonder if there are other not-so-funny topics I should consider.

Of course, my third most popular post wasn’t written by me at all. It was by Motorbrother Ben who refuses to start his own blog. But I may make him guest blog again. Because he is funny.

I did receive some recognition for Motormommy. Figenza vodka retweeted my post about my husband’s new balls; called “Blood Orange Figenza and My Husband’s New Balls.”. And Daily Buzz Moms gave me a shout-out as one of their featured 9 back in December. Alas, I didn’t notice either recognition until months later. I don’t even know what post Daily Buzz Moms featured.

That’s because I’m not doing it for recognition. Don’t get me wrong, I have an ego and it is pleased when I see that a post has 500+ views. But the writing is therapy, for me.

There are very few hobbies in my life that I’ve done for a full year, and I can’t think of anything I’ve done for so long in spite of sucking very badly.

But I can’t seem to stop writing. Being around kids all day, there are many ideas I don’t get to express. Thoughts pile up in my head all day or week or even month sometimes. Then I finally get a second at my computer or my phone and take them out and organize them into piles that make sense. I clean them up and put them put on the line. Then I feel fresh and presentable. It’s a lot more like doing laundry than you might think.

You, dear reader, are the reason I clean my crazy ideas up into words. I’m l
using you, I’m sorry. But you are providing me an invaluable service and in exchange I promise to provide some laughs or insight or at least work on my grammar a little.

Thank you for reading. I know there’s a lot of words and I appreciate the time you make for me in your Internet-viewing time.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Motormommy Turns One

  1. I look forward to your posts. Kudo’s to you! Thanks for sharing your life, thoughts, feelings, humor and sometimes sadness with me/us.

  2. Betsy Anderson Harris says:

    I, also, have enjoyed your posts. And I can relate to a lot of what you’ve shared. Ben is very interesting, also!

Leave a Reply

