The Kid-free Road Trip

English: 071606 041

English: 071606 041 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Feet were stomping, lips were pouting and arms were crossed. All the signs of a tantrum looming.

“Moommmy … Daaaaaddddy… You can’t just leave us! No, no, nooooooo….. I’m not gonna be friends with you anymore if you go. Who’s gonna take care of us? What about dinner? There’s lots of fun stuff for kids to do where you’re going… Please…..pretty please….”

A discussion ensued about the lovely neighbor girl who would babysit. And other details about meals and logistics.

And also about how hard it is taking care of a 1-year-old and a 3-year-old after working all day. Enjoyable, but tiring.

Sometimes grown-ups just need a break and a change of scenery. With just grown-ups.

Finally, I had to agree. I uncrossed my arms and although I couldn’t smile, I stopped pouting.

My parents do deserve a vacation. They watch my kids two days per week when I head into my quiet office until my husband is done with his day. They are also okay with being on call for weekend overnights. Of course, this is all on top of their own paying jobs.

So, I hope they’re enjoying their road trip NY Adirondacks, just the two of them. Happy Anniversary Motorgrandma and Motorkrappa (maybe I’ll explain that one someday.)  We miss you.

I also hope my husband’s parents don’t get any silly ideas.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

