Campers and Determined, Mobile Toddlers; a Good Mix?

I can’t believe I haven’t posted anything about motorhomin’ yet (when you read “motorhomin'” it should sound the way “motorboatin'” does in Little Big Town‘s “Pontoon.” I just decided that.  “In a Rrrr Vvv… Out here in the open…motorhomin’.”) We started in April and went 5 weekends in a row. Of course, I do believe I might be ridiculed for blogging by the fire.  So that’s part of my excuse.

During that timeframe, baby Buster turned 1. We threw him a nice sock monkey party which he seemed to like.  But more importantly, he’s 1 now.  I don’t know if you’ve had experience with a one-year-old boy, but they are strong for their size.  And awkwardly mobile.  Somehow, either crawling or with his lurching walk, he can identify and get to the most dangerous item in a room in seconds.

Which means camping with him is a much different experience than last year. His mobility is something I’m proud of and grateful for, but it makes being in a camper difficult. Campers are designed to provide as much convenience as possible in a very small package. That means important switches, etc., are usually placed right at perfect toddler height.

In fact, if you could magically de-electrify, unsharp, and remove all flame-creating items from a camper and place that squishy foamy stuff under the stuff that would be climbed and then fallen off of, you could charge a small fortune for toddlers to visit. Because thy LOVE that every hole, toilet, switch, bed, and dangerous item is just at their level.  Add a steering wheel and a radio from 1992 like my RV has, and it’s toddler heaven.  The old-fashioned heavy metal seatbelts can amuse my three-year-old for hours.

Even the larger, newer motorhomes aren’t designed with children’s safety in mind.  They’re a little better, but there’s just no way to fit what needs to be fitted in a camper while keeping stuff out of kids’ reach.

So, here, I bare all.  The true danger I expose my children to camping in our camper. (Not to mention how old and messy my camper is.)  Enjoy this gallery of what a 1-year-old loose in our camper’s adventure might entail.  Click on one of the pictures to have the gallery open into a slide show.  (Please note that no toddlers are ever harmed in the photographing of or act of camping.  We actually don’t have hot coffee over his head- we make it after he wakes up.  And we don’t let him wander around the camper.  And we have those safety things for the outlets, too.  Mostly, we use common sense.  So don’t go getting all DCF on me.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Campers and Determined, Mobile Toddlers; a Good Mix?

  1. It doesn’t sound like much of a vacation for Mommy!

    • motormommy says:

      You’re right! I should get another vacation. Its not so bad once we have him outside in the cage…errr…I mean super yard formed into a circle from which he cannot escape.

Leave a Reply

