Admitting the Truth about Mug Cake

Should've left it batter.

Should’ve left it batter.

They’d been popping up everywhere on my Pinterest feed. Decadent-looking, single-serve bits of heaven in a mug. Mug cakes, of course.  It’s a single serving of cake that you mix up in a mug and microwave to have your own personal cake any time you’d like.  I pinned a couple of mug cake recipes and waited for the right moment.

Finally, there was an evening where I was to throw caution and calories to the wind and enjoy one of these delicious treats. I looked at my original pins and then decided to search the internet for a few recipes that matched the ingredients I had on hand.

Through my searching, a familiar theme came up. People were trying to find recipes without egg. “It tasted too eggy,” one reviewer said of a recipe. While I agree that one egg in a mug is a lot, eggs don’t have much flavor. I had never heard such a complaint.

I decided that my mug cake needed to have egg in it. It would be more moist and it seemed like the right thing to do.

I decided upon this recipe for 2 Minute Chocolate and Salted Caramel mug cake.

After I nestled the children all snug in their beds, I put on my comfy pajamas and bathrobe. My husband was watching TV in the other room and wasn’t interested at all in the mug cake. I headed into the kitchen and put the concoction together.

So, I’m standing alone in my kitchen in a bathrobe. There is no one to judge me. I don’t have to share my dessert. I have just prepared a delicious cake batter in a mug. You’re telling me the next thing people do is COOK the batter?

Bull butter.

It wasn’t the eggy flavor people were turned off by. It was a fear of salmonella.

I tasted a spoonful of the batter. It was delicious and perfect. For some silly reason, I decided to cook my mug cake. Even after I covered it in ice cream, whipped cream, and chocolate sauce (hey, I’m alone in my kitchen and I’d I just baked a cake for myself, why would I stop there?) it couldn’t hold a candle to the batter.  Don’t get me wrong, that’s my empty mug in the picture.  I still devoured it.  But there was a healthy bit of regret of my choice to cook it.

So, next time you think “mug cake” sounds like a good idea, don’t fool yourself.  Make yourself some batter in a mug.  Don’t ruin it by putting it in the microwave.  If you’re not adventurous enough to risk horrible food-born illness, leave the egg out.  But don’t lie to me.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

