Whiskey’s In The Cabinet

I haven’t written much on here lately. This is mostly because the Greenbergs have acquired a dog. She’s a gorgeous Llewellin Setter. She’s at least part deaf but loves to give kisses and snuggle in your lap. She and needed a home and we needed a dog. We love her.

Like a bottle of Jack Daniel’s, she is black, white and carmel-colored. We named her Whiskey, which, we explained to Princess, is short for Whiskers. Princess put up a small fight for her chosen moniker- “Puppy The Puppy” – but she finally came over to our side and agreed Whiskey was a great name.

I still think it’s a great name, but I probably should have foreseen some issues.

Last week was my husband’s vacation. We’d initially planned a ski vacation and bought discounted lift tickets to Jay Peak. For a bunch of reasons, including the prohibitive cost of ski area day care and the new dog, we decided not to go.

At the last minute my father decided he was taking vacation that week and would be able to care for our infant. I found a reasonably-priced pet-friendly cabin 12 miles from the mountain and the trip was back on. I asked Princess if she was excited about our trip to Vermont and she replied, “YES!!! We’re going skiing and we’re going to stay in a cabinet!!!”

I laughed so hard it took me a while to explain it was a “cabin” not a “cabinet.”  I think because everyone laughed when she said it, she seemed to prefer calling it a “cabinet.”

Everything in this post up until now should have been included in a handout I gave to anyone within earshot of Princess on this trip.

Ski school instructors, waiters, water park life guards, lodging proprietors, bartenders (hey, the laws are apparently different in Vermont and I wasn’t winning “mom of the mountain” anyway), and fellow visitors might have overheard these nuggets from the ringlet-framed face above the bubblegum pink jacket in an angelic voice from Princess, to which my only follow-up could be a meek, barely-believable “it’s a dog.”

1. Did we leave Whiskey in the cabinet?
2. Can I take Whiskey out of the cabinet to play when we’re done skiing?
3. Can I have Whiskey in my bed tonight?
4. Sometimes Whiskey makes me turn in circles and fall in the snow.
5. Are we bringing Whiskey skiing?
6. Can we bring Whiskey to the water park?
7. I can’t wait to see whiskey in the cabinet.
8. Are we going to bring Whiskey home in mommy’s car with us?
9. I’m so glad we got Whiskey.
10. I love Whiskey.

Me too, kid. But keep your voice down!

20130113-164014.jpg20130113-163858.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Whiskey’s In The Cabinet

  1. Chrissie Evrett says:

    Love it !

  2. Courtney says:

    I can’t wait till she is old enough to understand how hysterical all this is!

  3. […] I’ve written about our dog, Whiskey, before.  Mostly to explain how foolish it is to name a preschooler’s dog “Whiskey”. […]

  4. […] Licensing and Certification. Shortly after our ski trip (referenced in “Whiskey’s in the Cabinet”) my parents took Princess to a camper show. They stopped to look at a beautiful, fully-loaded, […]

Leave a Reply

