The writing is on the wall. I rock.

“You were great today mommy.  I know I acted up some, but you made me feel so loved and I know I will appreciate the boundaries you are teaching me someday.

“I think we really both enjoyed that project you found on Pinterest, which I not only enjoyed but managed to create perfectly with no mess. Then, you didn’t even lose your sh@# when, while you were handling the baby’s blown out diaper, I used the cheap, non-washable crayons to draw triangles around the project I’d glued to the wall.  The time-out followed by the talk at my level was executed flawlessly, and since you left emotion out of it, I didn’t take it personally and just learned not to do that again.  I think you learned that it’s important to put the glue away right after we’re done with the project, right?

“Plus, yummy!  The food you made me was great – that’s why I ate all of it even though it was super healthy.

“Also, I know you said you gave up your clothing and makeup budgets when you stopped going to work, and you’ve mentioned that was especially hard right after having your second baby.  But, I gotta tell you, you really looked fabulous today, especially in the third shirt you had on – you know – the one you grabbed from the laundry pile, sniffed quickly and threw on after Buster pooped on you.  It was even better than the second clean one you put on after  I had my little accident.

“Looks like Daddy just pulled up.  Since you did such a good job today, instead of running up and throwing my arms around him like he’s rescuing me from some horrible nightmare, I’m going to go torture him.  Maybe tell him HE looks scary this time and then throw a fit when he tries to watch something other than Backyardigans, won’t that be funny?  Since my baby brother’s asleep, I’ll do it quietly.  After I’m done, I’ll help Daddy get the awesome dinner you made out on the table.  You just go for a run and then take a hot bath.  You deserve it.

“After dinner, I think I’m going to turn in early. Just one story tonight and I’ll go right to sleep.”

Said no child, ever.  But if you’re a mom or dad out there, and you’ve had one of those days where everything went wrong or everything went right, or somehow both, just know that I think you’re awesome.  And you’re doing everything right.

An Attagirl for Mommy

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

